Programme

Indoor meetings are held fortnightly on Wednesdays during the winter months from 7 to 9 pm at the Town Hall in Barnsley. Use the Experience Barnsley entrance.

Field visits are usually held on the second Saturday of each month, starting at 10 am, and regularly on Wednesday evenings in the summer.

Further information on forthcoming meetings, field visits and any additional outings will be published on our Home page

Autumn and Winter Programme 2019 – 2020

Wednesday October 2 Sharing knowledge and observations. Something for everyone.

Saturday October 12 Field visit: Wortley Hall Parkland.
Leaders: Doug Brown and Barry Tylee. (Friends of Wortley Hall Gardens)

Wednesday October 16 The Ascent of Birds: how modern science is revealing their story
a presentation by Professor John Reilly.

Wednesday October 30 From Catalonia to Finland,
a presentation by Ron Marshall.

Saturday November 9 Field visit: Fungi.
Leader: Geoff Jackson.

Wednesday November 13 Due to health reasons we have to make a change to the presentation this evening. The presentation will now be- ‘Migration and Orchids on Lesbos, Cyprus and Samos’ by Colin and Linda Graham.


Wednesday November 27 Behaviour, Life-cycle and ID of Bees
a presentation by Thomas Aspinall, Moors for the Future

Saturday December 7 Field visit: Looking at the Gull Roost at Anglers Country Park with Birdwatching Group.
N.B. 13.00 start. Leaders: Colin and Linda Graham.

Wednesday December 11 Christmas Social.

Wednesday January 8 There has been a change to our printed programme: The discreet world of Barnsley’s Small Blue butterfly a presentation by Alwyn Timms. The advertised presentation by Ron Marshall; From Catalonia to Finland, took place on 30th October 2019

Saturday January 11 Field visit: to be confirmed
Leaders: Peter and Annefie Roberts.

Wednesday January 22 Short presentations, finds, images, articles and anecdotes by members

Our full programme with field visits can be downloaded here:









xx